Egypt sentences 12 Brotherhood leaders to 20 years in prison


SHAFAQNA – An Egyptian court sentenced 12 Muslim Brotherhood leaders including Mohamed El-Beltagy, Essam El-Erian  to 20 years in prison without parole on Tuesday for the killing of protesters in December 2012, in a decision broadcast on state television.

The men, including Mohamed El-Beltagy, general secretary of the Brotherhood’s now-banned political party, and former parliamentarian Essam El-Erian were sentenced alongside ousted President Mohamed Mursi, who received the same prison term. The decision can be appealed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here